HSBC Canada Women's Sevens Captains 2019
Sports & Recreation

Women’s Rugby 7s: It’s Show Time!


Rugby 7s: Dream Team

Canada’s Victory in Sight!

by Anne Marie Moro
Photos by Rugby Canada and World Rugby

  • Canada’s Women’s Sevens Team is fresh off their Gold Medal performance at the last tournament in Kitakyushu, Japan.
  • Canada currently sits in 2nd place on the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series with two tournaments to go – Langford, May 11-12 and Biarritz, France on June 15-16
  • The top four nations at the end of the series automatically qualify for the 2020 Summer Olympic Games in Tokyo, Japan. Canada (2nd place) has an excellent chance of officially qualifying with a strong performance this weekend.
  • This weekend marks the fifth time Langford has hosted the HSBC Canada Women’s Sevens at Westhills Stadium, which has recently completed a upgrade with new stands, seating and stadium upgrades.
HSBC World Rugby Womens 7s Series

Canada Wins GOLD in Kitakyushu!

It may have been the lowest scoring final in HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series history, but Canada’s 7-5 victory over England in the HSBC Kitakyushu Sevens final was only settled with the final kick of the game at Mikuni World Stadium in Kitakyushu, Japan on April 20-21.

With the top four teams in the series to qualify for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games, the significance of this success was not lost on HSBC Player of the Final, Ghislaine Landry. It was Landry who found a gap in the defence to run around behind the posts to give herself a straightforward conversion to win the match. Landry, playing in her 30th series tournament, made no mistake with the conversion to break English hearts and secure a first title for Canada since February 2017.

Canada now in 2nd place on the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series

Canada’s victory has moved the team up to second place in the series standings with 66 points, now only six points behind New Zealand with 72 points. USA slipped to third with 64 points, with defending series champions Australia fourth with 56 and France fifth with 46 points.

Canada is now sitting 20 points clear of France with only two rounds remaining, one on home soil in Langford on May 11-12 and the finale in Biarritz, France, June 1-2.

“We know that [Olympic qualification] is what this is all about. That is our main goal this season. Getting a Cup final on top of that is a good feeling,” Landry said.

Coach John Tait added: “Our goal for this season was to take one of those Olympic qualifier spots. We took a massive step towards that goal in Japan—and that is just what we are going to keep focusing on. I don’t think these women have even hit their stride fully in this tournament. If we can put our attack together with some of the defence, I think there are a lot of positives to come.”

On May 11-12, the penultimate round of the HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series 2019 takes place in Langford at the newly renovated Westhills Stadium.

Come to cheer on these amazing women as they compete at the highest level for the coveted World Series title—and a run at an Olympic qualification.

Here are the 11 core teams you will get to see in action at Westhills Stadium as they compete for the World Series title: Australia, Canada, England, Fiji, France, New Zealand, Ireland, China, Spain, USA, Russia.

Suit up!

Get your tickets for the Langford May 11-12 series!

HSBC Canada Women's Sevens Captains 2019
Captain's photo prior to the HSBC World Rugby Women's Sevens Series in Langford on May 8th, 2019 (Names of captain’s left to right: Australia – Sharni Williams Brazil – Raquel Kochhann Canada – Ghislaine Landry China – Yan Meiling England – Abbie Brown France – Fanny Horta Fiji – Rusila Nagasau Ireland – Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe New Zealand – Sarah Hirini Russia – Alena Mikhaltsova Spain – Anne Fernández de Corres USA – Nicole Heavirland Photo credit: Mike Lee - KLC fotos for World Rugby

2018-2019 HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series

The HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens series consists of six tournaments held around the world in which national women’s sevens teams compete for series points at each round.

An overall champion is crowned at the end of the season based on points accumulated throughout the season.

This season, the HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series also doubles as an Olympic qualifier. The top four teams at the end of the season will book their spot for the 2020 Summer Olympic Games in Tokyo, Japan.

Oct 20-21 – Glendale, Colorado
Nov 29-30 – Dubai UAE
Feb 1-3 – Sydney, Australia
Apr 20-21 – Kitakyushu, Japan
May 11-12 – Langford, Canada
June 1-2 – Biarritz, France

About the author

Relative Posts

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.